Caught up in a Fantasy…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “A Mystery Wrapped in an Enigma.”

It’s a little tricky, to conjure up an idea of what people don’t know about me. That could easily fill up a book or two! However, the one thing I’ve never explained to anyone is how much time I invest in fictional worlds, may it be movies, books, TV, or old-fashioned fan fiction. They seem to regard me as a shy, introverted person who doesn’t “get out much”. In fact, throughout the various blurry days of my school years, that was the entire persona that I projected to my classmates, as well as those who knew me most.

Then, when I was 13 years old, I watched “Edward Scissorhands” for the first time. Watching Johnny Depp’s powerful performance struck a chord with me, and from that point onwards, I became obsessed with not just writing fan fiction (bad fan fiction at that!),but I became immersed in the plights of fictional characters more than people around me. As bizarre as it sounds, Harry Potter fan fiction was more significant to me growing up than, say, my maths homework.

As I got a little older, I developed the ability to speculate on character’s decisions, long after the people I was movie watching with would move on to the next plot point, but I’d still be stuck at the first point. I’d always loved the idea of telling a story, of watching what started out as a simple suggestion manifest into into a full-on adventure.

Whenever I meet someone who loves a certain book or movie just as much as I do, there’s just no keeping me quiet, because I am on the same wavelength as I am. It feels simply fantastic to let the film fanatic in me let loose a little every now and then!

Published by

Bibliophile96

I am a lover of books, 80's movies and simply acting of any kind! My blog is mainly about sharing my enjoyment of these interests with people with similar pastimes.

2 thoughts on “Caught up in a Fantasy…”

Leave a Reply

