I’m looking for a John Hughes movie moment in my life…

“Whatever happened to chivalry? Does it only exist in 80’s movies? I want John Cusack holding a boombox outside my window. I wanna ride off on a lawnmower with Patrick Dempsey. I want Jake from Sixteen Candles waiting outside the church for me. I want Judd Nelson thrusting his fist into the air because he knows he got me. Just once I want my life to be like an 80’s movie,preferably one with a really awesome musical number for no apparent reason. But no, John Hughes did not direct my life”- Olive Penderghast, Easy A

Haven’t we all felt that way at least once in our lives? That things would be complete if it came directly from the screen of an 80’s teen movie? Well, Olive, “Easy A”‘s spunky, sarcastic, yet ultimately lovable heroine states what we’ve all thought about these movies, particularly the ones penned or directed (sometimes both!) by the late, great John Hughes. Despite his passing in 2009, his films were the voices of many a teenager in the 80’s, and are still relevant and  to many today. Thanks to contemporary movies such as “Easy A” and “Pitch Perfect”, who namedrop classic movies like “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”, “The Breakfast Club” or “Sixteen Candles”. These inclusions of these titles just add to my enjoyment of both “Easy A” and “Pitch Perfect”.

John Hughes seemed to grant almost every adolescent kid’s wishes with his true to life moments in his movies. I mean, who hasn’t wanted to eat a delicious looking birthday cake with the school hunk after a particularly disastrous birthday? Who hasn’t thought about bonding with a group of fellow misfits from separate cliques during a Saturday detention? Who has  dreamed of skipping school and singing “Twist and Shout” on a parade float?

John Hughes paved the way of many inspirations of similarly themed teen films over the last few years, but as usual, nothing beats the original. We won’t forget about you, John Hughes.

So, what do you think? What’s your favourite 80’s movie, and which one do you think I should review next? Please write your replies in the comments, I would love to hear from all of you!

Published by

Bibliophile96

I am a lover of books, 80's movies and simply acting of any kind! My blog is mainly about sharing my enjoyment of these interests with people with similar pastimes.

Leave a Reply

